Minutes of IQAC meeting on 28th March, 2016

A meeting of the IQAC of the University was held on 28th March, 2016 in the Office of the Vice Chancellor. The meeting was presided over by the Vice Chancellor as the Chairperson of the University IQAC, and the following members were present:

Chairperson: Fr Stephen Mavely (Vice Chancellor)

Members present:

- 1. Dr Francis Fernandez (Controller of Examinations)
- 2. Dr S Nissi Paul (Assistant Registrar Academic)
- 3. Dr Sunandan Baruah (Director, Centre of Excellence in Nanotechnology)
- 4. Dr Peter Paul Hauhnar (Administrative and Development Officer)
- 5. Prof J N Vishwakarma (Director of Research, Director of School of Life Sciences)
- 6. Ms. Sabiha Alam Choudhury (Asst Professor Stage I, School of Humanities and Social Sciences)
- 7. Mr Bikramjit Goswami (Asst Professor Stage II, School of Technology)
- 8. Mr Chandan Dutta (Asst Professor Stage I, School of Commerce & Management)
- 9. Ms Subhra Mukherjee (Asst Professor Stage II)
- 10. Mr John Borgovary (North East Regional Head, UNDP)
- 11. Ms Amarjeet Kaur (Parent of Tayleen Kaul)
- 12. Fr Lukose Cheruvalel (Member of Board of Management, Member of Juvenile Justice Board)
- 13. Mr Satyabrata Borgohain (Director, Finance & Accounts, NEEPCO, Shillong)
- 14. Fr Joseph Nellanatt (Pro Vice-Chancellor)
- 15. Ms Juhi Baruah (Director of Human Resources)
- 16. Mr. Manoj Das, IT Administrator
- 17. Mrs. Pallavi Sharma, Laboratory Assistant
- 18. Dr Monmoyuri Baruah (Director, School of Applied Sciences)

Members absent:

- 1. Prof K. G. Bhattacharyya (Director, Academic Staff College GU)
- 2. Dr. Nibedita Kapil (Asst Professor Stage I, School of Applied Sciences)

Special Invitees:

- 1. Prof. Basil Koikara, Registrar, ADBU
- 2. Prof. Manoranjan Kalita, Director, SOT, ADBU

The Chairman of IQAC, Fr. (Dr.) Stephen Mavely, Vice Chancellor, Assam Don Bosco University (ADBU), started the meeting with a short prayer, followed by words of welcome to all the members and special invitees.

This was followed by the reading of the minutes of the meeting held on 4th September 2015 by the Coordinator. As the minutes dealt with the Audits that were decided upon, the meeting focussed on the reports submitted by these two Task Forces on 'Examination Processes of the University' and 'Admission Processes of the University'. Copies of the audit reports were circulated for the benefit of the members and displayed on the screen for discussion.

The first report on 'Examination Processes' was presented by Prof Manoranjan Kalita. Among the decisions taken from the recommendations of the Taskforce were the following:

- 1. To provide more assistance to the Assistant Registrar of Examinations, for smooth running of the examination related activities.
- 2. To study the possibility of arranging for central correction of the answer scripts for the same courses offered to different classes.
- 3. To start random scrutiny of the examined answer scripts.
- 4. To ensure that the mentoring system is effectively managed so that students, especially the first year students do not reach the stage of being not eligible to appear for examinations on account of lack of

attendance.

The suggestion made by the audit committee regarding allowing the first year students to proceed to the second year regardless of the number of back papers that they may have to clear, was not considered to be a good idea by IQAC. It was however suggested that the School of Technology make a study of the failures of the current batch and come up with some suggestions to counter the same.

Dr. Mommoyuri Baruah presented the recommendations of the Audit committee on the 'Admission Processes'. The following suggestions of the Committee were accepted for implementation:

- 1. The applicants for admission to the University Courses should be given an email validation of the admission. This is possible in the new ERP being implemented in the University
- 2. To make the university website more user friendly, and to ensure that the articles published on the site are vetted for quality and accuracy before being uploaded. Prof Y Jayanta Singh was entrusted with this task.
- 3. To introduce digital payment of fees through netbanking, debit cards, credit cards etc to speed up the process and to ensure accuracy.

The discussion on the audit reports concluded with the assurance from the Chair that the recommendations are being put on record, will be presented to the relevant bodies of the University, and steadily implemented. He also thanked the members of the Task Forces for the commendable work they had done.

Following up on the professionalism displayed by the Task Forces on examinations and admission process, the Committee discussed upon another area for an internal audit. After a lengthy discussion, it was decided to constitute another Task Force with the task of carrying out an internal audit on 'Research in the University: Environment and Quality'. The audit should cover areas such as the following:

- 1. Research Activities
- 2. Research Processes
- 3. Research Climate
- 4. Research and Ethics
- 5. Guidelines for publishing in indexed and recognized Journals

Among the names proposed for membership of the Audit Committee were the following: Prof Jayanta Singh, Prof Sunandan Baruah, Dr Samrat Dey, Mr Pradeep Deka. The Chairperson concluded the discussion saying that a notification would be issued shortly on the formation of a Committee to do this internal audit.

There was a discussion on areas of focus for the different departments of the School of Technology from the forthcoming semester, such as, 'New and Renewable Energy' for the Department of Electrical Engineering, 'Nanotechnology' for the Department of Electronics, 'Big data and internet of things' for the Department of Computer Science. The Director of the School of Technology intimated that concrete proposals in this line would be studied in the departments and suggestions and action plans would be prepared well in advance of the next session and the next meeting of IQAC.

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks from the Chairperson and a wish that the Committee will be able to hold its next meeting at the Tapesia Campus of the University.

Fr Stephen Mavely Chairperson, IQAC

Dr Monmoyuri Baruah *Coordinator*, *IQAC*